Skip to content

Perplexing Photo Op

February 23, 2009

John Phipps is one of the best ag columnists in the country, I may not always agree with him, but he’s always entertaining. In this latest piece he recounts a chance run in with Illinois Governor Rod Blagojevich in 2004, and inadvertently gets to the sad modern relationship between government and agriculture. (Or is it all of us?)

Money parts in bold.

After snapping a photo, the governor walked with me to our concourse, peppering me with questions:
“What do you do for a living?”
“I’m a farmer.”
“Great! How do you think I am doing with you guys?”
“Umm, OK, I guess. Actually, the state doesn’t really affect me as much as the federal government.”
“What should I be doing for farmers in the state?”
“To tell the truth, Governor, I’d just like it if you left us alone.” (Knowing what we know now, I should have asked, “Whaddaya got?”)
Unusual politics. My answer stumped him into silence. I guess nobody ever wants “nothing” from a governor.

From → Media

3 Comments
  1. Laissez-nous faire.

  2. Matthew permalink

    I don’t speak gay.

  3. The French don’t have a word for “entrepreneur.”

Leave a Reply

